Brewers Wall of Honor Announced

MILWAUKEE – The Milwaukee Brewers today announced plans for
the creation of the “Brewers Wall of Honor” in 2014 at Miller
Park.  The Wall of Honor will commemorate Milwaukee Brewers players, coaches and
executives who meet a set criteria based on service to the club and/or career


The Wall of Honor will be a permanent exhibit on an exterior Miller Park wall
adjacent to the Hot Corner entrance.  Honorees will be recognized with a bronze
plaque affixed to the wall, with their image and a brief synopsis of their
Milwaukee baseball career etched onto the marker. The plaques are designed by
Matthews International, designers of the plaques for the National Baseball Hall
of Fame.


“The Wall of Honor is designed to honor the many individuals who either spent
a significant portion of their career with the Brewers, or have a significant
legacy with the organization through various achievements,” said Brewers Chief
Operating Officer Rick Schlesinger. “It’s designed as a complement to our Miller
Park Walk of Fame, as well as our statues.”


Individuals who meet any of
the following criteria during their time with the Milwaukee Brewers organization
will be inducted into the Wall of Honor:


–          2,000 or more plate appearances

–          1,000 or more innings pitched

–          250 appearances as a pitcher

–          Winner of a major award (MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year, or
Fireman of the Year)

–          Manager of a pennant-winning team

–          Individuals memorialized with statues on the Miller Park Plaza

–          Members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame who played for or
managed the Brewers


Currently, there are 58 persons who meet the above criteria. This group of 58
will be recognized on the Brewers Wall of Honor during the 2014 season with an
induction ceremony at Miller Park, scheduled for Friday, June 13. Honorees and
their guests (as well as representatives of those who are deceased) will be
invited to attend the unveiling ceremonies, as well as recognized during a
program on the field prior to the game.


In addition to the 58 members of the inaugural class, there are seven active
players in Major League Baseball that meet the criteria.  Upon retirement,
players who meet the criteria will be added annually to the Wall of Honor.


The complete list of players, managers and executives who will grace the
Brewers Wall of Honor at the unveiling ceremony in June of 2014 follows:



  • Hank Aaron
  • Jerry Augustine
  • Sal Bando
  • Chris Bosio
  • Johnny Briggs
  • Jeromy Burnitz
  • Mike Caldwell
  • Bill Castro
  • Jeff Cirillo
  • Jim Colborn
  • Cecil Cooper
  • Craig Counsell
  • Chuck Crim
  • Rob Deer
  • Cal Eldred
  • Mike Fetters
  • Rollie Fingers
  • Jim Gantner
  • Moose Haas
  • Bill Hall
  • Darryl Hamilton
  • Teddy Higuera
  • John Jaha
  • Geoff Jenkins
  • Harvey Kuenn
  • Sixto Lezcano
  • Pat Listach
  • Mark Loretta
  • Davey May
  • Bob McClure
  • Paul Molitor
  • Don Money
  • Charlie Moore
  • Jaime Navarro
  • Dave Nilsson
  • Ben Oglivie
  • Dan Plesac
  • Darrell Porter
  • Ken Sanders
  • George Scott
  • Kevin Seitzer
  • Allan H. (Bud) Selig
  • Richie Sexson
  • Ben Sheets
  • Ted Simmons
  • Jim Slaton
  • B.J. Surhoff
  • Don Sutton
  • Gorman Thomas
  • Bill Travers
  • Bob Uecker
  • Jose Valentin
  • Greg Vaughn
  • Fernando Vina
  • Pete Vukovich
  • Bill Wegman
  • Bob Wickman
  • Robin Yount



John Axford, Ryan Braun, Prince Fielder, Yovani Gallardo, J.J. Hardy, Corey
Hart and Rickie Weeks are the seven active players who, as of today, qualify for
induction into the Wall of Honor following their retirement.  Other active
players closing in on the thresholds include Jonathan Lucroy and Carlos