Sports – Tuesday, March 12th, 2013

Ryan Honored

Badger men’s basketball coach Bo Ryan has been named the Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year for the 3rd time.  The Badgers were picked near the bottom of the Big Ten this season, but managed to finish in 4th place.  Indiana’s Bob Knight and Purdue’s Gene Keady are the only coaches to win the honor more than Ryan.  The Badgers will have the #4 seed and play either Michigan or Penn State on Friday in the Big Ten Tournament at 1:30pm on News-Talk 1450 KFIZ.


Badgers All-Conference

Center Jared Berggren was named 2nd team All-Big Ten by the Coaches and named to the All-Defensive Team.  Guard Ben Brust was Honorable Mention all-league by the media and coaches..  Sam Dekker was named Honorable Mention by the media and was on the coaches All-Freshman team. Michgian’s Trey Burke was the consensus player of the year.


Four Punch Tourney Tickets

Gonzaga, Davidson, Florida International, and Iona all won their conference tournaments to earn a birth in the NCAA Tournament on Monday.


Diener Led Wolves Play For National Title

Cardinal Stritch University in Milwaukee, coached by Fond du Lac native Drew Diener, will play for the NAIA Division Two National Championship on Tuesday night after beating Indiana University-Southeast 69-56 in the semifinals on Monday in Point Lookout, Missouri.  Fond du Lac native Tony Smit hit five 3-pointers and scored 19 of his game high 21 points in the first half as the Wolves led 42-36.  Southeast cut the Stritch lead to 44-41 early in the 2nd half, but a 14-0 put the Wolves comfortably back on top.  Laconia’s Derek Semenas scored 8 points while Fondy grad Nick Ford had 2 points and 8 assists in the win.  2nd ranked Cardinal Stritch (34-3) will play #1 ranked William Penn (Iowa) for the NAIA Division Two National Championship on Tuesday night at 8pm.  The game will be broadcast live on the CBS Sports Network.


Bucks Basketball on KFIZ

The Bucks host Dallas tonight at the BMO Harris Bradley Center. Coverage begins at 6:40pm on News-Talk 1450 KFIZ.


Semenas: WBCA All-State

The Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association has named Laconia’s Tyler Semenas a unanimous selection for the Division 4 All-State Basketball Team.  Germantown’s Luke Fisher was named Mr. Basketball.


NFL Free Agency Begins

The NFL’s fiscal year begins today and free agents can sign with other teams.  The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel reports that the Packers put the lowest restricted tender on center Evan Deitrich-Smith, meaning they have the right to match any offer but won’t be given any compensation if he signs elsewhere


NFL Trades

A pair of big time receivers are changing addresses.  The Vikings trade Percy Harvin to the Seattle Seahawks for a collection of draft picks including this year’s #1 and the Ravens have traded Anquan Boldin to the San Francisco 49ers for a 6th round pick.


Brewers Win

Rickie Weeks had an RBI Triple and Mike Fiers gave up two unearned runs in 4 innings as the Brewers beat the Dodgers 3-2 in Cactus League play on Monday.  The Brewers play the Rangers today.


College Baseball

Spaulding 4 Ripon 2


College Softball

Westfield 4 Ripon 3

Ripon 7 St. Scholastica 0

Dickson 5 Marian 1

Sul Ross State 7 Marian 4