DULUTH, Minn. – With a 1-0 shutout of No. 1 Ohio State, the Wisconsin Badgers are the 2023 NCAA Division I Women’s Hockey National Champions.

In an all-Western Collegiate Hockey Association final, the Badgers strong defensive efforts were showcased by a 31-save shutout by Cami Kronish while Kirsten Simms scored the game-winning goal to earn the program’s seventh national title in school history.

The national title is the 20th all-time for the WCHA as well as Wisconsin’s third in the last four years.

Despite being outshot 16-5 through the first period, it was only 6:32 after the drop of the puck when it was poked out from along the boards to the right point and dropped to Simms in the slot. She went top shelf for a 1-0 score that stood through the remainder of regulation.

Kronish had an outstanding first period with a game-high of 16 saves, and her strong performance continued on as she made stop after stop in a one-goal game. She was lights out facing the Buckeye pressure as they looked to tie it up late in regulation, and cheered on among a rowdy, red crowd at AMSOIL Arena.

Despite facing an extra attacker, the Badgers were able to keep the puck out of their zone for much of the final two minutes, even forcing a faceoff in the Ohio State zone with seconds remaining, to solidify their 1-0 victory.

In the league’s 19th NCAA title and 20th national championship overall, it marked the eighth time in league history the WCHA had two teams face off in the Frozen Four final.